From the moment you give access to more people on your platform, user roles will have crucial importance. Understanding what user roles exist and what permissions you can grant them will help you organize your system better and make sure that no one has more or fewer rights than they should.

From the Settings tab, select Users and Roles to manage the team that needs access to a ZMP Account, as well as those that require access to parent accounts and/or child accounts.

Managing Teammates

Teammates can be managed from within the Teammates tab. Here, a list of users is displayed along with their:

  • Name

  • Primary Account

  • Role

  • Email Address, and

  • Status.

Hover over a user's row and click the action menu () on the extreme right to reveal options to edit and/or deactivate the user.

Adding a New Teammate

To invite a new team member, click on the Invite Teammates button in the top-right corner.

As the Invite teammates panel slides in from the right side of the window,

  • Set the fields for First Name, Last Name, Email Address, and Display Name (optional).

  • The Primary Account is the top-level account the user should log in to when accessing the platform.

  • Setting the Role gives the user certain permissions. 

Once a user is invited, they will appear as pending in the list of users with access to the account. An invitation email is sent to the user as well. This invitation email has a link the user can click to set their password. 

Managing Roles

The Roles tab displays all the available roles, their descriptions, the account it's in, and the number of users with that role.

Clicking on a role reveals options to edit that role, including what permissions are enabled for it. 

For accounts with a parent/child structure in place, users can be invited to the parent account and be given different levels of access to the child accounts all from the parent account. These are referred to as secondary accounts. 

The Acquisition View of an account can only be seen by users that have the role of Acquisition User. This role can be set for you by Zeta Global. 

Adding a New Role

To add in a new role, click on the New Role button in the top-right corner.

As the Add new Role panel slides in from the right side of the window,

  • Fill in the Name and Description for the role and choose an account the role can be used in

  • Set the Role Permissions.

Permission Name

Description

Dependent Permissions

View Campaign

Grants the ability to view campaigns and their details

  • None

Edit Campaign

Grants the ability to edit campaigns

  • View Campaign

Launch Campaign

Grants the ability to launch campaigns

  • View Campaign

  • Edit Campaign

View Experiences

Grants the ability to view Experiences in the UI

  • None

Edit Experience

Grants the ability to edit experiences

  • View Experiences

  • View Campaign

  • Edit Campaign

Launch Experience

Grants the ability to set an experience to active

  • View Campaign

  • Edit Campaign

  • Edit Experience

View Content

Grants the ability to view content not contained within a campaign

  • None

Edit Content

Grants the ability to edit content not contained within a campaign

  • View Content

Edit Campaign Content

Grants the ability to edit content specifically within campaigns

  • View Campaign

  • Edit Campaign

View Audiences

Grants the ability to view the Audiences section in the left nav.

  • None

Edit Audience

Grants the ability to create and edit segments and lists

  • View Audiences

View User Data

Grants the ability to view user data

  • None

Edit User Data

Grants the ability to modify user data

  • View User Data

Edit Transaction Campaign

Grants the ability to mark a campaign as transactional and modify it.

Transactional campaigns ignore subscription status of the audience upon deployment.

  • View Campaign

  • Edit Campaign

Edit Feeds

Grants the ability to create and modify feeds

  • None

Edit Account Settings

Grants the ability to modify all account settings

  • None

View Opportunities

Grants the ability to view the Opportunities dashboard

  • None

Export Data

Grants the ability to create Segment exports

  • None

Download Data

Grants the ability to export Segments via direct download and/or email

  • None

User Preview Dynamic Content

Grants the ability to preview dynamic content.

This can display PII depending on what dynamic elements are contained within content.

  • None

View Dashboard

Grants the ability to view the Acquisition dashboard

  • None

View Actions

Grants the ability to view Actions

  • View Opportunities

Manage User Access

Grants the ability to add new users, deactivate existing users, create roles, modify roles, and assign roles

  • Edit Account Settings

View Analytics

Grants the ability to view analytics and reporting

  • None

Edit Analytics

Grants the ability to edit reports

  • View Analytics

External Db Access

Grants the ability to access and query connected external databases for creating query based segments.

Requires an initial account-level setup to establish a connection to an external database

This can have cost implications for the database owner.

  • None

Syndicate Content

Grants the ability to syndicate content from a parent account to connected child accounts

  • None

View Files

Grants the ability to view the Data section of the UI

  • None

Edit Files

Grants the ability to modify data flows and other aspects of the Data section of the UI

  • View Files

Selective Access

Selective Access is an optional feature in the ZMP that limits the visibility of Experiences, Campaigns, Templates, and Snippets. With Selective Access permission enabled, access to newly created Experiences, Campaigns, Templates, and Snippets is limited to the person that created them in the first place.

Once a new item is created, the owner of that item can share access to that item with other individuals in the account.

For those who should have access to all items regardless of owner, an Ignore Selective Access permission can be enabled for their role, which will ultimately ignore the ownership and visibility limits introduced by enabling Selective Access.

Teams

Teams allow for the creation of groups of users in ZMP to make sharing items in an account with Selective Access enabled easier. With teams, a newly created item can be shared with a team rather than with each individual user that needs access.