Glossary

While specifically critical for technical translations and marketing content, a glossary additionally lays down the foundation for high-quality, consistent translations of almost every kind. Overall, a glossary not only saves us time but also helps ensure Zeta DSP’s success across varied languages and cultures. Quickly have a look at the alphabetical listing of terms in our glossary that includes the most commonly used terms referenced throughout our platform.
Scroll through the Glossary
A | |
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Term | Definition |
A/B Testing | A testing process in which a web component such as an Ad, page layout, content, navigation, etc. is varied is presented in two different variants to determine which is more effective. Using more than two variants is typically termed Multivariate Testing. |
Above the Fold | A term taken from the newspaper industry, describes an Ad that is placed within the initial screen view on a web page. In contrast, Below the Fold means the user must scroll down to view the Ad. At least in the current advertising world, about 20% of inventory tends to be available above the fold, with 40% below the fold and another 40% unknown/undeclared. |
Ad | Short for Advertisement, the general industry term for the process of displaying a Creative. Also called Impression or Ad Impression. |
Ad Avail | The Ad space available for sale on a website. The number of Ad slots on a page, the number of pages containing Ad space and an estimate of future page views together determine the Ad Avail. Also called Inventory. |
Ad Choices | Ad Choices is part of the Digital Advertising Alliance's (DAA) Self-Regulatory Program for Online Behavioral Advertising. This program's clickable Advertising Option Icon is placed above Zeta Ads to give consumers a better understanding of and greater control over Ads that are customized based on their online behavior. For more information, choose the icon the next time you see it and read more at the DAA website. |
Ad Exchange | Or simply Exchange. An impression-by-impression, auction-based marketplace that connects advertisers, directly or through agencies, with publishers or networks to maximize yield for sellers and improve campaign performance (see Lift).The approach is technology-driven as opposed to the historical approach of negotiating price on media inventory. Notable Exchanges include RightMedia and DoubleClick Ad Exchange (AdX). |
Ad Impression | A longer name for Ad, it is the process of displaying a Creative. |
Ad Networks | Or simply Exchange. An impression-by-impression, auction-based marketplace that connects advertisers, directly or through agencies, with publishers or networks to maximize yield for sellers and improve campaign performance (see Lift).The approach is technology-driven as opposed to the historical approach of negotiating price on media inventory. Notable Exchanges include RightMedia and DoubleClick Ad Exchange (AdX). |
Ad Recency | An Ad's recency is the amount of time that has passed since it was displayed. |
Ad Server | The computers and software that decide which Ads to serve and corresponding creatives to websites. Ad Servers may also track clicks on Ads and other data. |
Ad tech | Ad tech is short for advertising technology, the term refers commonly to all technologies, software and services used for delivering, controlling and targeting online ads. |
Advertisement | The general industry term for a Creative being displayed. Also called Impression, Ad Impression or just Ad. See also "Creative" and "Impression". |
Advertising Technology Platform | Technology that helps to deliver Ads to digital devices. |
AI | Short for Artificial Intelligence, the science and engineering of making intelligent machines. |
Alien Conversion | A conversion that cannot be credited to the advertising platform in question. |
Analytics | The practice of finding meaningful patterns in data, generating statistics about campaigns by the discovery of beneficial information, and predicting and improving business performance. |
AOV | Average Order Value |
API | Application Programming Interface. An API is a programmatic interface to a software service. |
Artificial Intelligence | The science and engineering of making intelligent machines. Also called AI. |
Attributed Conversions | A conversion that can be credited to an Ad delivered by the advertising platform in question. |
Attribution | The process of identifying which clicks and/or impressions resulted in a conversion. There are several different attribution models which can be used to decide how much credit should be given to a certain action at a certain point in the conversion funnel. Last click/view attribution models (last seen) give all of the credit to the Ad that the person clicked on or saw last. First click/view attribution gives all of the credit to the first Ad a person clicked on or saw. Fractional Attribution gives equal credit to all Ads that were seen by the user before the conversion event. |
B | |
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Term | Definition |
Banner Ad | A basic image or flash display Ad, rather than a pop-up, interstitial, etc. |
Behavioral Targeting | Behavioral targeting uses information collected from an individual's web-browsing behavior, e.g. the pages they have visited or the searches they have conducted to select Ads to display. Sometimes called BT. |
Blacklist | In digital advertising, a list of URLs that are prohibited as Ad inventory for quality control reasons. |
Bonus | Impressions served free of charge. |
Brand Awareness | Metric used to describe whether or not a user is aware of a particular product or service brand. |
Brand Loyalty | Metric used to describe consumers who prefer a specific brand above all others. |
Brand Safety | The advertising goal of ensuring that a brand's Ads appear on quality websites that do not include questionable content. Zeta partners with companies like Adsafe and Double Verify to ensure this.
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Branding | A traditional advertising method used to elicit a latent response from a target based on cumulative impressions and positive reinforcement. |
Branding Campaign | An online campaign with the objective of driving metrics such as awareness, familiarity, purchase intent, or consideration (rather than direct conversions). |
Business-to-Business | Business-to-business advertising focuses on reaching business employees responsible for making capital decisions or purchases. Also called B-to-B. |
Business to Consumer | Businesses or transactions conducted directly between a company and consumers who are the end-users of its products or services. Also called B-to-C. |
C | |
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Term | Definition |
Cache Buster | A cache-buster is a unique piece of code that prevents a browser from reusing an ad that it has already seen and cached, or saved, to a temporary memory file. The cache-buster thereby forces a new call to the Ad Server. |
Call to Action (CTA) | A website banner, button, or another type of graphic or text meant to prompt a user to choose it and continue to conversion. |
Campaign | A set of bidding instructions that at a minimum includes a bid price for inventory. Most campaigns also include criteria such as a specific start and end date, daily or overall budgets, frequency restrictions, and targeting based on user or inventory data. Online advertising campaigns are defined by a number of variables, including the digital creatives, duration or flight dates, pricing program, publishers to be used, and targeting applied. |
Campaign Objective | The overall goal of a digital advertising campaign. |
CDN | Content Delivery Network. A globally-distributed network that uses the nearest server (with available resources) to respond to visitor requests for content. |
Channel | In digital advertising, the marketing means used to interact with visitors, including a public web site, advertising, search, paid search, call center, e-mail, direct mail, and print. |
Click | Literally the act of a visitor choosing an Ad, conceptually it is the movement of a visitor down the Sales Funnel. A click occurs as a visitor performs the intended action of an Ad after witnessing an Impression. Typically, and hence the use of the term "click", the intended action is simply to click on the Advertisement. |
Click Referral | The maximum number of days that can elapse between the time a user clicks an ad associated with a pixel, and the time when the same user converts. This is for reporting purposes. |
Click-through Rate | The number of clicks divided by total impressions served for a particular Ad or campaign. Also known as CTR. |
Content Delivery Network | A globally-distributed network that uses the nearest server (with available resources) to respond to Visitor requests for content. Sometimes called CDN. |
Conversion | The completion of a campaign objective, such as clicking, filling out a form, enrolling in a program, making a purchase, etc by an online user. Usually used in conjunction with direct response campaigns. |
Conversion Pixel | A pixel that fires when a user converts, e.g. click on an Ad, registers, makes a purchase, etc. Advertisers place conversion pixels on a landing page, registration page, checkout page, etc. |
Cookie Matching | The process of mapping web site and/or mobile app visitors from one system to another. Cookie matching ensures that the Zeta technology can recognize individuals across the Zeta Network, from publisher to publisher, and serve Ads in a timely manner. Zeta does not use HTML5 cookies or Locally Shared Objects (Flash Cookies). |
Copy | The textual or written portion of a creative. |
Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) | Cost per Acquisition, or Action, provides two pieces of information about Inventory: the cost and the purchase type. The numerical value of the CPA is the amount that must be paid for each Conversion. Typically, there is no guarantee on the number of Conversions. Also called CPA or Cost Per Action. |
Cost Per Click (CPC) | An advertising campaign pricing model based on paying only for Ads that experience a click-through. Also known as CPC. |
Cost Per Impression | An advertising campaign pricing model based on paying only for Ad Impressions served. Also known as CPI. |
Cost Per Lead | A CPA-based pricing method that typically pays a fixed fee for the acquisition of a customer lead, such as a filled out form or an opt-in email address. Some see this term as interchangeable with CPA. Also known as CPL. |
Cost Per Opportunity | Similar to CPL but further down the funnel, the number of pre-qualified sales-ready leads (opportunities) divided by the cost of acquisition. Also called CPO. |
Cost Per Point (CPP) | This Audience Goal-related objective helps understand how much each GRP costs. It is calculated as: Total Spend / GRPs. |
Cost per Thousand (CPM) | An advertising campaign pricing model based on an estimate of the number of impressions of a particular creative in a particular media at a particular time.Cost per 1,000 Impressions. i.e. $10 CPM / 1,000 Impressions = $0.01 per impression. Also known as Cost per Mille or CPM. |
CRM | Customer Relationship Management. A system for managing a company's interactions with current and future customers. It often involves using technology to organize, automate, and synchronize sales, marketing, customer service, and technical support. Salesforce.com is one example. |
Creative | The software asset to be displayed as an advertisement. Common creative formats include GIF, JPEG, JavaScript, HTML, Flash VAST Video. Digital creative can be text, static graphic, animated graphic, Video, audio or expandable. |
Creative Concept | A brief idea or theme that can be used as the organizing idea in an Advertisement or Campaign. |
Cross-Channel Marketing | The creation and promulgation of campaigns that take into account customer preferences and engage recipients on their chosen platform and via their preferred media. Examples of channels include display, mobile, social, and Video. |
Cross-Channel Synchronization | The sharing of learning from one or more channels to the benefit of the campaign on other channels |
CTR | Click-through Rate. The number of clicks divided by total impressions served for a particular Ad or campaign. |
Customer Relationship Management | Customer Relationship Management. A system for managing a company's interactions with current and future customers. It often involves using technology to organize, automate, and synchronize sales, marketing, customer service, and technical support. Usually called CRM. |
D | |
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Term | Definition |
DART | Ad management tool and server created by DoubleClick and operated by Google. |
Data Partner | Site publishers who pass though and sell data to Ad networks and data vendors. Information is collected on publisher sites and shared via third-party tags or cookie-matching processes. |
Data Protection | Ensuring that no personally identifiable information (P.I.I.) s used to target online advertising |
dCPM | Dynamic CPM is a metric that reflects the actual price paid for an Impression purchased at an Exchange. dCPM is often lower than the actual bid because of the use by many exchanges of second bid auction game theory. |
Decisioning | The process by which an Ad Server, Ad platform, or exchange chooses when to serve an Ad (really to whom), based on many factors including auctions, prioritizing certain advertisers based on relationships and prior agreements, and other methods. |
Demand-side Platform | System that allows digital advertisers to manage multiple Ad exchange and data exchange accounts through one interface to buy, manage, report on, and optimize the display of advertising media. The platform and the Zeta technology are together an example of a Demand-side Platform. Also known as DSP. |
Designated Market Area | A geographic area originally defined as a group of counties that made up a cohesive television market. Also called DMA. |
Direct Response | Marketing or advertising designed to solicit a direct response which is specific and quantifiable and can be attributed to a specific Ad. In digital display advertising, this can be clicking on an Ad, making a purchase, signing up for a newsletter, etc. Also called DR. |
DMA | Designated Market Area: (Sometimes Demographic Metropolitan Area.) A geographic area originally defined as a group of counties that made up a cohesive television market. |
DR | Marketing or advertising designed to solicit a direct response which is specific and quantifiable and can be attributed to a specific Ad. In digital display advertising, this can be clicking on an Ad, making a purchase, signing up for a newsletter, etc. |
E | |
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Term | Definition |
Exchange | Or Ad Exchange. An impression-by-impression, auction-based marketplace that connects advertisers, directly or through agencies, with publishers or networks to maximize yield for sellers and improve campaign performance (see Lift).The approach is technology-driven as opposed to the historical approach of negotiating price on media inventory. Notable Exchanges include RightMedia and DoubleClick Ad Exchange (adx). |
External Media | The business practice of advertisers purchasing inventory on third-party publisher or network sites. |
F | |
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Term | Definition |
First-Party Data | Data collected by an advertiser about their customers. For example, such data might include identifiers of visitors who have visited the site, made purchases, what they have purchased and when, or users who are on a mailing list for a particular product or brand. The most common sources of such data are
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Fixed Margin | Fixed Margin is a pricing structure in which the client pays the media cost plus a fixed percentage. For this purpose, media cost is the exchange cost or the amount the DSP pays the Ad exchanges and does not include data costs. |
Flight | An instance of a Campaign for a specific date and time range (start and end). A Campaign may have one or more Flights that do not overlap in time. |
Frequency | How often an ad is shown in a certain period, such as 24 hours. Advertisers often want to limit frequency to avoid overexposure. |
Frequency Cap | A limit on the total number of times a single visitor is exposed to a particular Ad or a campaign during a specified period of time. In the context of Tactics, how often a tactic can serve an impression (usually measured in hours or days). |
Full-Funnel Solution | A business solution that runs a brand campaign at the same time as a direct response campaign and sharing learning from each. Zeta offers Full-Funnel solutions. |
G | |
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Term | Definition |
Geo-Audience Targeting | Also known as Geo-Behavioral targeting, an exciting new way to hone in hard-to-reach consumers by leveraging geo-contextual data tied to observed consumer locations. Geo-audiences are developed by observing the frequency of consumer visits to specific businesses, business categories, or other locations. For instance, a hotel chain may want to reach frequent travelers. To find these potential customers, a media company could observe consumers who frequently visit airports, hotels, and/ or car rental locations. The media company could then deliver impressions when consumers are most likely to be influenced, irrespective of their current location. |
Geo-Fencing | A most common application of Geo-Targeting is to set up a virtual perimeter around an advertiser's store locations called a Geo-Fence (aka "Ring-Fence"). Consumers within the Geo-Fence may be served Ads while those outside the fence are ignored. The diameter of the Geo-Fence depends on the campaign objectives. A special form of Geo-Fencing called Path Targeting focuses on consumers along a predefined path, such as a train route, racecourse, or highway. The path consists of many small Geo-Fences placed closely together. Because Geo-Fencing potentially excludes many high-value consumers, it is best used when attempting to have consumers take immediate action. For instance, if a quick-service restaurant is currently having a promotion on a new sandwich, it may make sense to create 1km Geofences around its locations to reach consumers when they're considering lunch options. |
Geo-Targeting | Restricting a campaign to a specific geographic area. Zeta can geo-target based on country, state, city, DMA, and postal codes. |
GRP | A GRP (Gross Rating Point) is a standard measure of advertising impact. It is calculated as the percentage of the target market reached multiplied by the exposure frequency. (In-Target Impressions / Target Population × 100). |
H | |
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Term | Definition |
Halo Effect | Perceived positive features of a particular product, service, or offering that extends to its brand. |
I | |
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Term | Definition |
IAB | The Interactive Advertising Bureau, a business association comprised of hundreds of leading media and technology companies that are responsible for selling, delivering and optimizing digital advertising. |
Impression | The act of displaying of a digital Ad (creative) to a potential customer. The same creative served two separate times would count as two impressions. |
Impression Attribution Rate | The number of impressions delivered by the number of conversions that can be attributed to at least one of them. |
Impressions Bought | Impressions successfully bid for and bought in Ad Exchange auctions. |
Impressions Drop | The percentage difference between publisher impressions and Zeta impressions, calculated as ((pub impressions - Zeta impressions) / pub impressions). |
Impressions Sold | Impressions successfully auctioned off and served to the winning bidder. |
Incentive | An inducement (through discount, premiums, prizes, etc.) offered by an advertiser to reward or motivate visitors, who may be salespeople, channel members, and/or consumers, to sell, purchase, or participate in the advertiser's product or service. |
Insertion Order | An order for Ad impressions with a set of restrictions (targeting, frequency, etc.) from an advertiser. Also called I.O. |
Insights | In the DSP an analysis of what Zeta has learned from a campaign. Use Insights results to help you fine-tune Ads and also your non-digital campaigns in useful ways:
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Interstitial Ad | Full-screen Ad that covers the interface of their host application. Publishers typically display such Ads at natural transition points in the flow of an application, such as between activities or during the pause between levels in a game. |
Inventory | The Ad space available for sale on a website. The number of Ad slots on a page, the number of pages containing Ad space, and an estimate of future page views together determine the Inventory. Also called Ad Avail. Inventory is obtained via an exchange, network, or directly from a publisher. |
I.O. | Insertion Order. An order for Ad impressions with a set of restrictions (targeting, frequency, etc.) from an advertiser. Also written "IO". |
J | |
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Term | Definition |
K | |
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Term | Definition |
KPD | Key Purchase Decision |
KPI | Key Purchase Indicator or Key Performance Indicator - notes what the client is targeting in their campaign. |
L | |
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Term | Definition |
Lift | The increase in the percentage of visitors that convert. |
Line-item | In advertising, the terms of a contract. Typically a line-item specifies budget, pricing, duration, targeting, pacing, etc. Insertion Orders contain one or more line-items. In the DSP, line-items combine with Flights to form the building blocks of a campaign. |
M | |
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Term | Definition |
Machine Learning | The branch of artificial intelligence that specializes in the construction and study of systems that can learn from data. |
Media Buying | The procurement of media real estate at optimal placement and price. The main task of media buying lies within the negotiation of price and placement to ensure the best possible value. |
Media Channels | Most commonly refers to digital channels such as display, Video and mobile. |
Metrics | Any standardized measurement used for comparison purposes, examples include CTR or CPL. |
Model Learning | Insights derived from Ads served and predictions. |
Multi Touches | Also known as "assists", all the impressions after the first one, but not the last one on the path to a particular visitor's conversion. |
Multivariate Testing | A testing process in which a web component such as an Ad, page layout, content, navigation, etc. is varied is presented in multiple different variants to determine which is more effective. Using just two variants is typically termed A/B Testing. |
N | |
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Term | Definition |
O | |
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Term | Definition |
Objective | A campaign's specific goal, target or purpose. |
Optimization | An act, process, or methodology of making a campaign, or campaign decision as fully perfect, functional, or effective as possible. |
P | |
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Term | Definition |
Pacing | The ability to allocate inventory at a given rate, such that no substantial peaks of delivery occur, which would prevent a desired distribution of inventory. |
Page | A single web page within a site that has one or more Ad placements. |
Page View | The experience of a visitor, on a page, in response to a single request for that page. Each time a visitor requests (or reloads) a page is a separate Page View. In reporting, these may be aggregated into Visits. |
Path | A series of creatives that are experienced by a visitor over multiple, sequential requests to different pages during a single visit. |
Pay Per Click | Campaigns in which cost is calculated by the number of clicks received on its Ads, rather than by CPM. Also called PPC. |
Performance | How well a campaign meets its original objectives or metrics identified at its launch. |
P.I.I. | Personal Identifiable Information. Any piece of information that potentially can be used to uniquely identify, contact, or locate a person. |
Piggyback URL | Piggyback URLs assist in feeding data to Zeta's data collection systems. They are related to the pixel and are activated when the pixel is hit. |
Pixel | A snippet of code inside a web page that creates a 1x1 transparent pixel on a web page by a third-party server to track user data. When the page and thus the Pixel loads, the third-party server records information such as the visitor's IP address, the page URL, and the date and time. Also called Tracking Pixel or Web Beacon. |
Pixel Audit | The procedure of check every web page on a site containing Pixels to ensure they are firing correctly. |
Placement | See also Ad placement. A location, typically on a web page, where Ads can be presented to visitors. |
P.O. | Purchase Order. Also called "PO". This document type requests the purchase of inventory from a publisher or network. |
PPC | Pay Per Click. Describes a campaign in which cost is calculated by the number of clicks received on its Ads, rather than by CPM. |
Professional Services | The Zeta service that helps clients with customizations that go above and beyond the standard offering. |
Programmatic Buying | Digital advertising that is aggregated, booked, flighted, analyzed, and optimized via demand-side interfaces and algorithms. Or simply put,
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Proprietary Learning | Information gleaned by the Zeta technology in the course of a campaign. |
PSA | Public Service Announcement. A creative that advertises for a non-profit organization. |
Pub Impressions | Published Impressions. Number of impressions served on exchanges. |
Public Service Announcement | A creative that advertises for a non-profit organization. |
Publisher | Source of ad inventory. An individual or entity selling online advertising space, including portal media planners, webmasters, and other Ad networks. Publishers, web publishers, webmasters, and hosts are synonymous with respect to online advertising. |
Purchase Order | This document type requests the purchase of inventory from a publisher or network. Also called "P.O." or "PO". |
Purchase Intent | A plan to purchase a good or service in the near future. |
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Term | Definition |
R | |
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Term | Definition |
Reach | The estimated percentage of Internet users within a defined geographical unit who meet some specified user behavior criteria. One common criterion is visits to a site or group of related sites. For example, a 32 Reach in the US could mean 32% of American Internet users have visited a particular set of sites. |
Real-time Bidding | Dynamic auction process in which each impression is bid for in (near) real-time versus a static auction where impressions are typically bundled in groups of 1,000. |
Real-time Brand Optimization | Delivering single-question in-banner brand surveys and receiving the survey data in real-time. The Zeta technology can analyze such data and use real-time optimization technology to boost a campaign's performance. |
Recency | Amount of time since a visitor's previous view of a particular page or previous view of the same Ad. |
Return on Ad Spend | A metric measured by external data attributed to impressions and generally calculated using the formula (Revenue/Media spend). |
Revenue | Budget delivered according to third-party impressions served or What the client has spent ((Paid impressions / 1000) * CPM or (CPM / 1,000) * No. of Impressions) |
RFP | Request for Proposal |
Rich Media | General term used to describe advances in online creative that take advantage of enhanced sensory features such as animation, audio, and Video. Rich media takes many different digital file forms. The serving of rich media creative can require more bandwidth and software modifications for older systems. |
ROAS | Return on Ad Spend, as measured by external data attributed to impressions and generally calculated using the formula (Revenue / Media spend). |
ROI | Return on Investment |
ROS | Run of Site. All of the inventory available on a particular website. |
RTB | Real-time Bidding. Dynamic auction process in which each impression is bid for in (near) real-time versus a static auction where impressions are typically bundled in groups of 1,000. |
RTBO | Real-time Brand Optimization. Delivering single-question in-banner brand surveys and receiving the survey data in real-time. The Zeta technology can analyze such data and use real-time optimization technology to boost a campaign's performance. |
RTD | Real-time Data |
Run of Site | All inventory available on a particular website. |
S | |
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Term | Definition |
SaaS | Software as a Service |
Seed Recipients | Using a seed list allows any individual you choose to verify the content of the campaign at launch time prior to the rest of your intended audience receiving the campaign. Some examples of the kinds of people who would be added to a seed list are your internal users, key stakeholders, external agencies, test email accounts, etc. |
Segment | A segment is a dynamic, filtered portion of an audience updated by the platform in real-time, send-time or periodically. |
Segmentation | Segmentation is a powerful way to identify and track a portion of a client's customer base. |
Sentiment Signals | Sentiment signals identify and quantify subjective consumer information to help Marketer's determine timing to take an action, and what type of action to take. |
SFTP Endpoints | SFTP stands for Secure File Transfer Protocol and is the location points used to deliver batch files securely to ZMP. |
SFTP User Name | The SFTP User Name is the name needed to access the STFP endpoint where files will be dropped. |
SFTP Secret Key | The SFTP Secret Key is the password needed to access the STFP endpoint where the files will be dropped. |
Single View of the Customer | A unified and holistic record of a customer created by integrating all available data points (online and offline) across advertising, marketing and business operations and tied to a single (often deterministic) identity using identity resolution. In the CDP+, that single view can be enriched with data from the Data Cloud and modeled using Zeta AI. |
SMS | SMS (Short Message Service) is a text message. |
Snippet | Content Snippets are reusable snippets of HTML that can be used across multiple templates. The re-useable chunks of content are used to centralize updates to brand and other commonly reused assets across multiple templates. |
T | |
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Term | Definition |
Tactic | A tactic exists within a Line-item; you can think of it as the fifth level of control in the DSP. line-items can include more than one tactic. A tactic has Ads and may also have its own targeting rules. Tactics enable grouping a set of advertisements with the same narrow objective; for example, all sizes of a particular type of Ad. Tactics can be useful for comparison purposes, for example, comparing the performance of two different sets of advertisements. For more information see Tactics, and to learn how to perform A/B testing, see Audience Segment Segmentation Targeting content |
Targeting | The control of the distribution of Ads to only those websites or those users that fit within the particular targeting parameters. Typical targeting parameters are locality, time of day, website category, age group, gender, etc. |
Technology Platform | An underlying computer system on which application programs can run |
Third-Party Data | Visitor data that has been anonymously aggregated by a third-party from one or more publishers. Such data is segmented into targetable audience clusters or available at more granular levels. Data categories types include
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Third Quartile | Number of people who watch up to the third quartile of a Video Ad. |
Tracking Pixel | A snippet of code inside a web page that creates a 1x1 transparent pixel on a web page by a third-party server to track user data. When the page and thus the Pixel loads, the third-party server records information such as the visitor's IP address, the page URL, and the date and time. |
U | |
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Term | Definition |
URL | Uniform Resource Locator. A URL is one type of Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), the generic term for all types of names and addresses that refer to objects on the World Wide Web. Essentially it is a web address. For example: Zeta.com |
User | A target customer for digital advertisers. i.e. a person browsing the web or using a mobile device and views an Ad. |
User Profile | Personal data associated with a specific user or a customized desktop environment; the explicit digital representation of a person's identity |
UV | Unique Visitor |
V | |
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Term | Definition |
Value | Monetary value of actions driven by Zeta Ads, calculated as (Cost of advertiser's desired action * No. of actions). For example, if the CPA goal is $100 and Zeta generates 500 conversions, then value = 500 * $100 = $50,000). |
vCPM | Viewability CPM |
Vertical | A group of companies within a specific industry that serve each other's specialized needs and that do not serve a broader market. A vertical market is tightly focused on meeting the needs of one specific industry. |
Video Completion | Number of visitors who watched a particular Video Ad to completion. |
Video Completion Rate | Percentage of visitors who watched a Video Ad to completion. |
Video Starts | Number of visitors who at least started to watch a Video Ad. |
View Referral | The maximum number of days that can elapse between the time a user views an ad associated with a pixel, and the time when the same user converts. This is for reporting purposes. |
Viewability | Percentage of Ad impressions that were physically viewable by the device operator when served. Viewability is difficult to measure since an Ad may be positioned off the visible part of the screen, obscured by some other screen element, etc. There are also various ways to count Ads that are partly visible on the screen and partly not. Zeta includes the following criteria:
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Visit | The experience of a visitor on a site over the course of multiple page views during a single session using the site. Each time a visitor begins a new session at a site is considered a separate visit. The actual aggregation of page views into visits is difficult and there are many different approaches. |
Visitor | A person browsing a web page or using a mobile device who can participate in campaigns by viewing or clicking on Ads. |
W | |
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Term | Definition |
Web Beacon | A snippet of code inside a web page that creates a 1x1 transparent pixel on a web page by a third-party server to track user data. When the page and thus the Pixel loads, the third-party server records information such as the visitor's IP address, the page URL, and the date and time. Also called a Pixel or Tracking Pixel. |
Weight | A number applied to an individual item within a set that indicates the item's relative likelihood to be randomly selected from items in that set. For example, if there are three items in a set, with weights 15, 60, 45; the first item should be randomly selected about 12.5% of the time, the second item 50% of the time, and the third 37.5% of the time. |
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Term | Definition |
Y | |
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Term | Definition |
Z | |
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Term | Definition |