Zeta offers the ability to apply multiple goals to your campaigns, line-items, or tactics. This feature allows you to optimize against two or more goals. While achieving all goals is an ideal state, this feature allows you to ensure your most important goals are secured first. Benefits of applying multiple goals include:
Less manual monitoring of campaign delivery is necessary
Greater reach, value and effectiveness over data segments
After selecting a Campaign Objective, you can assign specific goals to campaigns and line-items. These direct the DSP artificial intelligence technology.
Considerations to keep in mind when setting goals:
If your Client Objective was not CPA or CTR, click at least one goal that matches the Client Objective.
When you use multiple goals, the DSP AI pursues each goal separately. You may sometimes find that one goal dominates another. In this case, you can adjust the value of the dominant goal to make it less aggressive; this gives other goals more opportunity.
When you change elements during a campaign, the change is immediate, but the AI learning process can take time. It is wise to refrain from making further changes for a week or even longer to understand the full extent of the results.
When your campaign or line-item has multiple goals, you can set the priority of these goals.
Multi-Goal Campaign Recommendations
Suggested Primary Goal
Suggested Secondary Goal
Improve Brand Awareness
Video Completion Rate
CTR or CPA
For optimal performance, two goals are recommended. Do not add more than three goals.
Multiple goals cannot be selected from the same goal group (i.e., CPC & CTR).
Choose this option to instruct the Zeta technology on the number of times you want visitors to click on (choose) your Ads. In the second box enter the goal number of clicks per day.
Click-Through Rate, i.e. the number of clicks on Ads divided by the number of impressions of those Ads served, in other words maximizing clicks while minimizing impressions. In the second box enter the goal click-through rate as a percentage.
Target Cost Per Click (on an Ad). In the second box enter the goal cost.
Conversion occurs when a visitor completes the objective of a campaign, e.g. fills out a form, enrolls in a program, makes a purchase, orders an airline seat, etc. This objective is most often used in direct response campaigns. In the second box enter the goal number of conversions.
Cost Per Acquisition. If your campaign has a CPA Objective set, you can set this objective to enable a Target CPA goal on your campaign.
When preparing a CPA campaign, we recommend placing pixels at least two weeks in advance, and those pixels having at least 1000 fires collectively, 200 of which are from the conversion pixel. This helps the Zeta DSP collect enough data for the model to optimize efficiently prior to launch.
Conversion Rate, i.e. the number conversions divided by the number of impressions of Ads served, in other words maximizing conversions while minimizing impressions. In the second box enter the goal conversions as a percentage.
Tips for Setting a CPA Goal
We recommend taking the following steps to help plan your CPA goal setup:
Gather the average value of the total Daily Fires of the campaign's conversion pixel.
Take note of 5% and 10% of this average.
Gather the daily budget needed to deliver the flight in full.
Divide the value in Step 3 by the values found in Step 2. This can be calculated as: Daily Budget Needed to Deliver Flight / (Average Daily Fires * .05)
The result of this calculation is in the range of estimated CPA for this campaign when the model is optimizing fully. Choose a value in the range that speaks to how aggressive or safe you want to set client expectations.
5 days with an average of 1,000 conversion pixel fires per day = we can expect to capture 50-100 daily pixel fires
Monthly spend $15,000 / 30 days = $500 spend per day
$500/50 fires= $10 CPA
$500/100 fires = $5 CPA
$5-10 CPA becomes the ideal CPA range
Having multiple vendors or strong competition can factor in the number of conversions. This range may not be achievable for short flights with little to no impression delivery or pixel history. You may want to be more conservative when setting your client's expectations.
Choose this option if you want the DSP AI to optimize for Viewability in addition to your existing goal(s).
If you want the DSP AI to optimize for Viewability, you must add a Viewability Goal (not a Client Objective).
Video Completion Goals
Video Completion Rate
This goal is a percentage. It is the percentage of visitors who watched a Video Ad to completion.
Daily Video Completes
This goal is numeric. It is the number of completed Videos in a 24-hour period.
This section provides an overview of the dCPM pricing type. dCPM is the average dynamic Cost Per Mille (Thousand). Dynamic CPM reflects the actual price paid for an Impression purchased at an Exchange. This means that the Zeta technology varies the CPM dynamically as needed, but with a maximum average value, and an optional minimum average value. dCPM is often lower than the actual bid because of the use by many exchanges of second bid auction game theory. With dCPM, the rate can fluctuate on a per-impression basis but averages out to a flat CPM that satisfies the budget. Enter the minimum allowed dCPM and maximum allowed dCPM.
Minimum dCPM is set to 10% of the maximum dCPM. You can manually adjust the minimum and maximum values. Generally, it's best to set the minimum as low as possible. Although it may seem that a higher setting would avoid cheap inventory and brand safety issues, the AI already corrects for this. You may also employ Traffic Quality Targeting as a further guarantee in this regard.
Allowable min dCPM values are $0.01 to 90% of max dCPM.
Changes to dCPM pricing model settings are acknowledged at the beginning of a new day (midnight EST).
The wider the dCPM range, the better. Higher max CPMs provide us a wider range to explore the optimal point to deliver against a CPA goal. If the CPM floats higher, it means we are buying more premium inventory.
Ensure that the Max dCPM is high enough for a campaign. If your campaign has strict inventory or targeting restrictions be sure the max dCPM is high enough. If max dCPM is set too low for any impressions, our bidding system will deliver only a few impressions at a loss.
On dCPM priced lines, the following is recommended so that delivery and performance is maximized:
Performance goal is cost-based (ex. CPA)
Margin type is Fixed
Failing to follow these recommendations may lead to non-ideal delivery, performance, and/or margin adherence.