Glossary

Explanations of useful terms in the Zeta DSP advertising, digital advertising, and marketing in general.

If viewing this list in a language other than English, you can sort the list of terms by clicking on "Term" in the table header.

Term

Explanation

A/B Testing

A testing process in which a web component such as an Ad, page layout, content, navigation, etc. is varied is presented in two different variants to determine which is more effective. Using more than two variants is typically termed Multivariate Testing.

Above the Fold

A term taken from the newspaper industry, describes an Ad that is placed within the initial screen view on a web page. In contrast, Below the Fold means the user must scroll down to view the Ad. At least in the current advertising world, about 20% of inventory tends to be available above the fold, with 40% below the fold and another 40% unknown/undeclared.

Ad

Short for Advertisement, the general industry term for the process of displaying a Creative. Also called Impression or Ad Impression.

Ad Avail

The Ad space available for sale on a website. The number of Ad slots on a page, the number of pages containing Ad space and an estimate of future page views together determine the Ad Avail. Also called Inventory.

Ad Choices

Ad Choices is part of the Digital Advertising Alliance's (DAA) Self-Regulatory Program for Online Behavioral Advertising. This program's clickable Advertising Option Icon is placed above Zeta Ads to give consumers a better understanding of and greater control over Ads that are customized based on their online behavior. For more information, choose the icon the next time you see it and read more at the DAA website.

Ad Exchange

Or simply Exchange. An impression-by-impression, auction-based marketplace that connects advertisers, directly or through agencies, with publishers or networks to maximize yield for sellers and improve campaign performance (see Lift).The approach is technology-driven as opposed to the historical approach of negotiating price on media inventory. Notable Exchanges include RightMedia and DoubleClick Ad Exchange (AdX).

Ad Impression

A longer name for Ad, it is the process of displaying a Creative.

Ad Networks

Or simply Exchange. An impression-by-impression, auction-based marketplace that connects advertisers, directly or through agencies, with publishers or networks to maximize yield for sellers and improve campaign performance (see Lift).The approach is technology-driven as opposed to the historical approach of negotiating price on media inventory. Notable Exchanges include RightMedia and DoubleClick Ad Exchange (AdX).

Ad Recency

An Ad's recency is the amount of time that has passed since it was displayed.

Ad Server

The computers and software that decide which Ads to serve and corresponding creatives to websites. Ad Servers may also track clicks on Ads and other data.

Ad tech

Ad tech is short for advertising technology, the term refers commonly to all technologies, software and services used for delivering, controlling and targeting online ads.

Advertisement

The general industry term for a Creative being displayed. Also called Impression, Ad Impression or just Ad. See also "Creative" and "Impression".

Advertising Technology Platform

Technology that helps to deliver Ads to digital devices.

AI

Short for Artificial Intelligence, the science and engineering of making intelligent machines.

Alien Conversion

A conversion that cannot be credited to the advertising platform in question.

Analytics

The practice of finding meaningful patterns in data, generating statistics about campaigns by the discovery of beneficial information, and predicting and improving business performance.

AOV

Average Order Value

API

Application Programming Interface. An API is a programmatic interface to a software service.

Artificial Intelligence

The science and engineering of making intelligent machines. Also called AI.

Attributed Conversions

A conversion that can be credited to an Ad delivered by the advertising platform in question.

Attribution

The process of identifying which clicks and/or impressions resulted in a conversion. There are several different attribution models which can be used to decide how much credit should be given to a certain action at a certain point in the conversion funnel. Last click/view attribution models (last seen) give all of the credit to the Ad that the person clicked on or saw last. First click/view attribution gives all of the credit to the first Ad a person clicked on or saw. Fractional Attribution gives equal credit to all Ads that were seen by the user before the conversion event.

Banner Ad

A basic image or flash display Ad, rather than a pop-up, interstitial, etc.

Behavioral Targeting

Behavioral targeting uses information collected from an individual's web-browsing behavior, e.g. the pages they have visited or the searches they have conducted to select Ads to display. Sometimes called BT.

Blacklist

In digital advertising, a list of URLs that are prohibited as Ad inventory for quality control reasons.

Bonus

Impressions served free of charge.

Brand Awareness

Metric used to describe whether or not a user is aware of a particular product or service brand.

Brand Loyalty

Metric used to describe consumers who prefer a specific brand above all others.

Brand Safety

The advertising goal of ensuring that a brand's Ads appear on quality websites that do not include questionable content. Zeta partners with companies like Adsafe and Double Verify to ensure this.
A wide range of inventory is available for programmatic buying. Some marketers may find some of these sites objectionable, but programmatic-buying companies have put in place many safeguards to ensure that ads are placed only in brand-safe environments.
Real-time blockers
Real-time blockers are software filters that ensure in real-time that every Ad impression is a quality impression, every impression is compliant, and every Ad was served and displayed exactly as intended, providing:

  • Correct geo-targeting

  • Competitive separation

  • Correct Ad placement

  • Fraud detection

  • OBA compliance
    Avoiding inappropriate content
    Blockers use crawlers and human panels to pre-classify and evaluate millions of content properties, so programmatic-buying entities have real-time recommendations on which content properties to avoid. In the rare case that a bid does go through, the blocker can still intercept the placement of the Ad and redirect the Ad request back to the publisher for an alternative placement.
    Pre-screened inventory
    Every programmatic-buying company maintains a blacklist of inappropriate content properties, to which the client can add additional inappropriate content properties, such as sites controlled by direct competitors. None of the properties on the blacklist will ever be considered for any bids.

Branding

A traditional advertising method used to elicit a latent response from a target based on cumulative impressions and positive reinforcement.

Branding Campaign

An online campaign with the objective of driving metrics such as awareness, familiarity, purchase intent, or consideration (rather than direct conversions).

Business-to-Business

Business-to-business advertising focuses on reaching business employees responsible for making capital decisions or purchases. Also called B-to-B.

Business to Consumer

Businesses or transactions conducted directly between a company and consumers who are the end-users of its products or services. Also called B-to-C.

Cache Buster

A cache-buster is a unique piece of code that prevents a browser from reusing an ad that it has already seen and cached, or saved, to a temporary memory file. The cache-buster thereby forces a new call to the Ad Server.

Call to Action (CTA)

A website banner, button, or another type of graphic or text meant to prompt a user to choose it and continue to conversion.

Campaign

A set of bidding instructions that at a minimum includes a bid price for inventory. Most campaigns also include criteria such as a specific start and end date, daily or overall budgets, frequency restrictions, and targeting based on user or inventory data. Online advertising campaigns are defined by a number of variables, including the digital creatives, duration or flight dates, pricing program, publishers to be used, and targeting applied.

Campaign Objective

The overall goal of a digital advertising campaign.

CDN

Content Delivery Network. A globally-distributed network that uses the nearest server (with available resources) to respond to visitor requests for content.

Channel

In digital advertising, the marketing means used to interact with visitors, including a public web site, advertising, search, paid search, call center, e-mail, direct mail, and print.

Click

Literally the act of a visitor choosing an Ad, conceptually it is the movement of a visitor down the Sales Funnel. A click occurs as a visitor performs the intended action of an Ad after witnessing an Impression. Typically, and hence the use of the term "click", the intended action is simply to click on the Advertisement.

Click Referral

The maximum number of days that can elapse between the time a user clicks an ad associated with a pixel, and the time when the same user converts. This is for reporting purposes.

Click-through Rate

The number of clicks divided by total impressions served for a particular Ad or campaign. Also known as CTR.

Content Delivery Network

A globally-distributed network that uses the nearest server (with available resources) to respond to Visitor requests for content. Sometimes called CDN.

Conversion

The completion of a campaign objective, such as clicking, filling out a form, enrolling in a program, making a purchase, etc by an online user. Usually used in conjunction with direct response campaigns.

Conversion Pixel

A pixel that fires when a user converts, e.g. click on an Ad, registers, makes a purchase, etc. Advertisers place conversion pixels on a landing page, registration page, checkout page, etc.

Cookie Matching

The process of mapping web site and/or mobile app visitors from one system to another. Cookie matching ensures that the Zeta technology can recognize individuals across the Zeta etwork, from publisher to publisher, and serve Ads in a timely manner. Zeta does not use HTML5 cookies or Locally Shared Objects (Flash Cookies).

Copy

The textual or written portion of a creative.

Cost Per Acquisition (CPA)

Cost per Acquisition, or Action, provides two pieces of information about Inventory: the cost and the purchase type. The numerical value of the CPA is the amount that must be paid for each Conversion. Typically, there is no guarantee on the number of Conversions. Also called CPA or Cost Per Action.

Cost Per Click (CPC)

An advertising campaign pricing model based on paying only for Ads that experience a click-through. Also known as CPC.

Cost Per Impression

An advertising campaign pricing model based on paying only for Ad Impressions served. Also known as CPI.

Cost Per Lead

A CPA-based pricing method that typically pays a fixed fee for the acquisition of a customer lead, such as a filled out form or an opt-in email address. Some see this term as interchangeable with CPA. Also known as CPL.

Cost Per Opportunity

Similar to CPL but further down the funnel, the number of pre-qualified sales-ready leads (opportunities) divided by the cost of acquisition. Also called CPO.

Cost Per Point (CPP)

This Audience Goal-related objective helps understand how much each GRP costs. It is calculated as: Total Spend / GRPs.
A GRP (Gross Rating Point) is calculated as In-Target Impressions / Target Population × 100

Cost per Thousand (CPM)

An advertising campaign pricing model based on an estimate of the number of impressions of a particular creative in a particular media at a particular time.Cost per 1,000 Impressions. i.e. $10 CPM / 1,000 Impressions = $0.01 per impression. Also known as Cost per Mille or CPM.

CRM

Customer Relationship Management. A system for managing a company's interactions with current and future customers. It often involves using technology to organize, automate, and synchronize sales, marketing, customer service, and technical support. Salesforce.com is one example.

Creative

The software asset to be displayed as an advertisement. Common creative formats include GIF, JPEG, JavaScript, HTML, Flash VAST Video. Digital creative can be text, static graphic, animated graphic, Video, audio or expandable.

Creative Concept

A brief idea or theme that can be used as the organizing idea in an Advertisement or Campaign.

CRM

Customer Relationship Management. A system for managing a company's interactions with current and future customers. It often involves using technology to organize, automate, and synchronize sales, marketing, customer service, and technical support. Salesforce.com is one example.

Cross-Channel Marketing

The creation and promulgation of campaigns that take into account customer preferences and engage recipients on their chosen platform and via their preferred media. Examples of channels include display, mobile, social, and Video.

Cross-Channel Synchronization

The sharing of learning from one or more channels to the benefit of the campaign on other channels

CTR

Click-through Rate. The number of clicks divided by total impressions served for a particular Ad or campaign.

Customer Relationship Management

Customer Relationship Management. A system for managing a company's interactions with current and future customers. It often involves using technology to organize, automate, and synchronize sales, marketing, customer service, and technical support. Usually called CRM.

DART

Ad management tool and server created by DoubleClick and operated by Google.

Data Partner

Site publishers who pass though and sell data to Ad networks and data vendors. Information is collected on publisher sites and shared via third-party tags or cookie-matching processes.

Data Protection

Ensuring that no personally identifiable information (P.I.I.) s used to target online advertising

dCPM

Dynamic CPM is a metric that reflects the actual price paid for an Impression purchased at an Exchange.

dCPM is often lower than the actual bid because of the use by many exchanges of second bid auction game theory.

Decisioning

The process by which an Ad Server, Ad platform, or exchange chooses when to serve an Ad (really to whom), based on many factors including auctions, prioritizing certain advertisers based on relationships and prior agreements, and other methods.

Demand-side Platform

System that allows digital advertisers to manage multiple Ad exchange and data exchange accounts through one interface to buy, manage, report on, and optimize the display of advertising media. The platform and the Zeta technology are together an example of a Demand-side Platform. Also known as DSP.

Designated Market Area

A geographic area originally defined as a group of counties that made up a cohesive television market. Also called DMA.

Direct Response

Marketing or advertising designed to solicit a direct response which is specific and quantifiable and can be attributed to a specific Ad. In digital display advertising, this can be clicking on an Ad, making a purchase, signing up for a newsletter, etc. Also called DR.

DMA

Designated Market Area: (Sometimes Demographic Metropolitan Area.) A geographic area originally defined as a group of counties that made up a cohesive television market.

DR

Marketing or advertising designed to solicit a direct response which is specific and quantifiable and can be attributed to a specific Ad. In digital display advertising, this can be clicking on an Ad, making a purchase, signing up for a newsletter, etc.

Exchange

Or Ad Exchange. An impression-by-impression, auction-based marketplace that connects advertisers, directly or through agencies, with publishers or networks to maximize yield for sellers and improve campaign performance (see Lift).The approach is technology-driven as opposed to the historical approach of negotiating price on media inventory. Notable Exchanges include RightMedia and DoubleClick Ad Exchange (adx).

External Media

The business practice of advertisers purchasing inventory on third-party publisher or network sites.

First-Party Data

Data collected by an advertiser about their customers. For example, such data might include identifiers of visitors who have visited the site, made purchases, what they have purchased and when, or users who are on a mailing list for a particular product or brand. The most common sources of such data are

  • Website visits and actions

  • Mailing-list subscriptions

  • Customer email databases

  • Loyalty programs

  • CRM systems

  • Transaction systems

  • Other enterprise-automation systems

Fixed Margin

Fixed Margin is a pricing structure in which the client pays the media cost plus a fixed percentage. For this purpose, media cost is the exchange cost or the amount the DSP pays the Ad exchanges and does not include data costs.
Example:
Suppose the client media cost is $1.50 with a margin rate of 33 1/3%.
This means that the net revenue to the DSP is $0.50 (a third of $1.50) with an exchange cost of $1.00.
This is subtly different from Fixed Markup, but only in perspective. Equal pricing structures can be achieved by either method.

Flight

An instance of a Campaign for a specific date and time range (start and end). A Campaign may have one or more Flights that do not overlap in time.

Frequency

How often an ad is shown in a certain period, such as 24 hours. Advertisers often want to limit frequency to avoid overexposure.

Frequency Cap

A limit on the total number of times a single visitor is exposed to a particular Ad or a campaign during a specified period of time. In the context of Tactics, how often a tactic can serve an impression (usually measured in hours or days).

Full-Funnel Solution

A business solution that runs a brand campaign at the same time as a direct response campaign and sharing learning from each. Zeta offers Full-Funnel solutions.

Geo-Audience Targeting

Also known as Geo-Behavioral targeting, an exciting new way to hone in hard-to-reach consumers by leveraging geo-contextual data tied to observed consumer locations. Geo-audiences are developed by observing the frequency of consumer visits to specific businesses, business categories, or other locations. For instance, a hotel chain may want to reach frequent travelers. To find these potential customers, a media company could observe consumers who frequently visit airports, hotels, and/ or car rental locations. The media company could then deliver impressions when consumers are most likely to be influenced, irrespective of their current location.

Geo-Fencing

A most common application of Geo-Targeting is to set up a virtual perimeter around an advertiser's store locations called a Geo-Fence (aka "Ring-Fence"). Consumers within the Geo-Fence may be served Ads while those outside the fence are ignored. The diameter of the Geo-Fence depends on the campaign objectives. A special form of Geo-Fencing called Path Targeting focuses on consumers along a predefined path, such as a train route, racecourse, or highway. The path consists of many small Geo-Fences placed closely together. Because Geo-Fencing potentially excludes many high-value consumers, it is best used when attempting to have consumers take immediate action. For instance, if a quick-service restaurant is currently having a promotion on a new sandwich, it may make sense to create 1km Geofences around its locations to reach consumers when they're considering lunch options.

Geo-Targeting

Restricting a campaign to a specific geographic area. Zeta can geo-target based on country, state, city, DMA, and postal codes.

GRP

A GRP (Gross Rating Point) is a standard measure of advertising impact. It is calculated as the percentage of the target market reached multiplied by the exposure frequency. (In-Target Impressions / Target Population × 100).

Halo Effect

Perceived positive features of a particular product, service, or offering that extends to its brand.

IAB

The Interactive Advertising Bureau, a business association comprised of hundreds of leading media and technology companies that are responsible for selling, delivering and optimizing digital advertising.

Impression

The act of displaying of a digital Ad (creative) to a potential customer. The same creative served two separate times would count as two impressions.

Impression Attribution Rate

The number of impressions delivered by the number of conversions that can be attributed to at least one of them.

Impressions Bought

Impressions successfully bid for and bought in Ad Exchange auctions.

Impressions Drop

The percentage difference between publisher impressions and Zeta impressions, calculated as ((pub impressions - Zeta impressions) / pub impressions).

Impressions Sold

Impressions successfully auctioned off and served to the winning bidder.

Incentive

An inducement (through discount, premiums, prizes, etc.) offered by an advertiser to reward or motivate visitors, who may be salespeople, channel members, and/or consumers, to sell, purchase, or participate in the advertiser's product or service.

Insertion Order

An order for Ad impressions with a set of restrictions (targeting, frequency, etc.) from an advertiser. Also called I.O.

Insights

In the DSP an analysis of what Zeta has learned from a campaign. Use Insights results to help you fine-tune Ads and also your non-digital campaigns in useful ways:

  • finding types of customers you may not realize you had

  • discovering which types of Ads work best

  • discovering which types of customers may need different types of Ads

  • etc.

Interstitial Ad

Full-screen Ad that covers the interface of their host application. Publishers typically display such Ads at natural transition points in the flow of an application, such as between activities or during the pause between levels in a game.

Inventory

The Ad space available for sale on a website. The number of Ad slots on a page, the number of pages containing Ad space, and an estimate of future page views together determine the Inventory. Also called Ad Avail. Inventory is obtained via an exchange, network, or directly from a publisher.

I.O.

Insertion Order. An order for Ad impressions with a set of restrictions (targeting, frequency, etc.) from an advertiser. Also written "IO".

KPD

Key Purchase Decision

KPI

Key Purchase Indicator or Key Performance Indicator - notes what the client is targeting in their campaign.

Lift

The increase in the percentage of visitors that convert.

Line-item

In advertising, the terms of a contract. Typically a line-item specifies budget, pricing, duration, targeting, pacing, etc. Insertion Orders contain one or more line-items. In the DSP, line-items combine with Flights to form the building blocks of a campaign.

Machine Learning

The branch of artificial intelligence that specializes in the construction and study of systems that can learn from data.

Media Buying

The procurement of media real estate at optimal placement and price. The main task of media buying lies within the negotiation of price and placement to ensure the best possible value.

Media Channels

Most commonly refers to digital channels such as display, Video and mobile.

Metrics

Any standardized measurement used for comparison purposes, examples include CTR or CPL.

Model Learning

Insights derived from Ads served and predictions.

Multi Touches

Also known as "assists", all the impressions after the first one, but not the last one on the path to a particular visitor's conversion.

Multivariate Testing

A testing process in which a web component such as an Ad, page layout, content, navigation, etc. is varied is presented in multiple different variants to determine which is more effective. Using just two variants is typically termed A/B Testing.

Objective

A campaign's specific goal, target or purpose.

Optimization

An act, process, or methodology of making a campaign, or campaign decision as fully perfect, functional, or effective as possible.

Pacing

The ability to allocate inventory at a given rate, such that no substantial peaks of delivery occur, which would prevent a desired distribution of inventory.

Page

A single web page within a site that has one or more Ad placements.

Page View

The experience of a visitor, on a page, in response to a single request for that page. Each time a visitor requests (or reloads) a page is a separate Page View. In reporting, these may be aggregated into Visits.

Path

A series of creatives that are experienced by a visitor over multiple, sequential requests to different pages during a single visit.

Pay Per Click

Campaigns in which cost is calculated by the number of clicks received on its Ads, rather than by CPM. Also called PPC.

Performance

How well a campaign meets its original objectives or metrics identified at its launch.

P.I.I.

Personal Identifiable Information. Any piece of information that potentially can be used to uniquely identify, contact, or locate a person.

Piggyback URL

Piggyback URLs assist in feeding data to Zeta's data collection systems. They are related to the pixel and are activated when the pixel is hit.
Piggyback URLs are stored as secure or unsecured. You do not need to include the http:// or https:// part of the URL.

Pixel

A snippet of code inside a web page that creates a 1x1 transparent pixel on a web page by a third-party server to track user data. When the page and thus the Pixel loads, the third-party server records information such as the visitor's IP address, the page URL, and the date and time. Also called Tracking Pixel or Web Beacon.

Pixel Audit

The procedure of check every web page on a site containing Pixels to ensure they are firing correctly.

Placement

See also Ad placement. A location, typically on a web page, where Ads can be presented to visitors.

P.O.

Purchase Order. Also called "PO". This document type requests the purchase of inventory from a publisher or network.

PPC

Pay Per Click. Describes a campaign in which cost is calculated by the number of clicks received on its Ads, rather than by CPM.

Professional Services

The Zeta service that helps clients with customizations that go above and beyond the standard offering.

Programmatic Buying

Digital advertising that is aggregated, booked, flighted, analyzed, and optimized via demand-side interfaces and algorithms. Or simply put,

  • Bidding on an advertising inventory source

  • in real-time

  • for the opportunity to:

    • show one specific ad

    • to one consumer

    • in one specific context

Proprietary Learning

Information gleaned by the Zeta technology in the course of a campaign.

PSA

Public Service Announcement. A creative that advertises for a non-profit organization.

Pub Impressions

Published Impressions. Number of impressions served on exchanges.

Public Service Announcement

A creative that advertises for a non-profit organization.

Publisher

Source of ad inventory. An individual or entity selling online advertising space, including portal media planners, webmasters, and other Ad networks. Publishers, web publishers, webmasters, and hosts are synonymous with respect to online advertising.

Purchase Order

This document type requests the purchase of inventory from a publisher or network. Also called "P.O." or "PO".

Purchase Intent

A plan to purchase a good or service in the near future.

Reach

The estimated percentage of Internet users within a defined geographical unit who meet some specified user behavior criteria. One common criterion is visits to a site or group of related sites. For example, a 32 Reach in the US could mean 32% of American Internet users have visited a particular set of sites.

Real-time Bidding

Dynamic auction process in which each impression is bid for in (near) real-time versus a static auction where impressions are typically bundled in groups of 1,000.

Real-time Brand Optimization

Delivering single-question in-banner brand surveys and receiving the survey data in real-time. The Zeta technology can analyze such data and use real-time optimization technology to boost a campaign's performance.

Recency

Amount of time since a visitor's previous view of a particular page or previous view of the same Ad.

Return on Ad Spend

A metric measured by external data attributed to impressions and generally calculated using the formula (Revenue/Media spend).

Revenue

Budget delivered according to third-party impressions served or What the client has spent ((Paid impressions / 1000) * CPM or (CPM / 1,000) * No. of Impressions)

RFP

Request for Proposal

Rich Media

General term used to describe advances in online creative that take advantage of enhanced sensory features such as animation, audio, and Video. Rich media takes many different digital file forms. The serving of rich media creative can require more bandwidth and software modifications for older systems.

ROAS

Return on Ad Spend, as measured by external data attributed to impressions and generally calculated using the formula (Revenue / Media spend).

ROI

Return on Investment

ROS

Run of Site. All of the inventory available on a particular website.

RTB

Real-time Bidding. Dynamic auction process in which each impression is bid for in (near) real-time versus a static auction where impressions are typically bundled in groups of 1,000.

RTBO

Real-time Brand Optimization. Delivering single-question in-banner brand surveys and receiving the survey data in real-time. The Zeta technology can analyze such data and use real-time optimization technology to boost a campaign's performance.

RTD

Real-time Data

Run of Site

All inventory available on a particular website.

Sales Funnel

A narrowing set of people as they relate to a specific campaign, based on the likelihood of conversion.

At the "top" of the funnel are all potential viewers of a campaign's Ads and/or site(s).

As the people visit the site(s), click Ads, complete forms, etc. they change from potentials, to leads, to prospects, and ultimately to sales.

Scale

Advertising across a wide or broad scope of an audience.

Search Engine Marketing

Advertising placed on a search engine site, e.g. Google AdWords, sponsored ads, etc. This type of advertising is not supported by Zeta.

Search Engine Optimization

Optimizing a website to be content- and keyword-rich in order to appear higher on search engine results.

Second-party Data

First-party data is received directly from the source.

Sell-Side Platform

technology platform with the single mission of enabling publishers to manage their Ad impression inventory and maximize revenue from digital media. As such they offer an efficient, automated, and secure way to tap into the available sources of advertising income and provide insight into the various revenue streams and audiences.

SEM

Search Engine Marketing. Advertising placed on a search engine site, e.g. Google AdWords, sponsored ads, etc. This type of advertising is not supported by Zeta.

SEO

Search Engine Optimization. Optimizing a website to be content and keyword-rich in order to appear higher on search engine results.

Site

Any web site on which a visitor may participate in a Zeta Campaign by viewing and/or clicking on Ads).

Tactic

A tactic exists within a Line-item; you can think of it as the fifth level of control in the DSP. line-items can include more than one tactic. A tactic has Ads and may also have its own targeting rules. Tactics enable grouping a set of advertisements with the same narrow objective; for example, all sizes of a particular type of Ad. Tactics can be useful for comparison purposes, for example, comparing the performance of two different sets of advertisements. For more information see Tactics, and to learn how to perform A/B testing, see Audience Segment Segmentation Targeting content

Targeting

The control of the distribution of Ads to only those websites or those users that fit within the particular targeting parameters. Typical targeting parameters are locality, time of day, website category, age group, gender, etc.

Technology Platform

An underlying computer system on which application programs can run

Third-Party Data

Visitor data that has been anonymously aggregated by a third-party from one or more publishers. Such data is segmented into targetable audience clusters or available at more granular levels. Data categories types include

  • Demographic: gender, income, education, household size, etc.

  • Psychographic: mindset, interests, affinities, etc.

  • Behavioral: recent searches, in-market data (e.g. for cars), credit-card usage, etc.
    DSP campaigns can benefit from such online and offline data provided by partners like BlueKai, eXelate, Targus, and others.

Third Quartile

Number of people who watch up to the third quartile of a Video Ad.

Tracking Pixel

A snippet of code inside a web page that creates a 1x1 transparent pixel on a web page by a third-party server to track user data. When the page and thus the Pixel loads, the third-party server records information such as the visitor's IP address, the page URL, and the date and time.

URL

Uniform Resource Locator. A URL is one type of Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), the generic term for all types of names and addresses that refer to objects on the World Wide Web. Essentially it is a web address. For example: Zeta.com

User

A target customer for digital advertisers. i.e. a person browsing the web or using a mobile device and views an Ad.

User Profile

Personal data associated with a specific user or a customized desktop environment; the explicit digital representation of a person's identity

UV

Unique Visitor

Value

Monetary value of actions driven by Zeta Ads, calculated as (Cost of advertiser's desired action * No. of actions). For example, if the CPA goal is $100 and Zeta generates 500 conversions, then value = 500 * $100 = $50,000).

vCPM

Viewability CPM

Vertical

A group of companies within a specific industry that serve each other's specialized needs and that do not serve a broader market. A vertical market is tightly focused on meeting the needs of one specific industry.

Video Completion

Number of visitors who watched a particular Video Ad to completion.

Video Completion Rate

Percentage of visitors who watched a Video Ad to completion.

Video Starts

Number of visitors who at least started to watch a Video Ad.

View Referral

The maximum number of days that can elapse between the time a user views an ad associated with a pixel, and the time when the same user converts. This is for reporting purposes.

Viewability

Percentage of Ad impressions that were physically viewable by the device operator when served. Viewability is difficult to measure since an Ad may be positioned off the visible part of the screen, obscured by some other screen element, etc. There are also various ways to count Ads that are partly visible on the screen and partly not. Zeta includes the following criteria:

  • A display viewable impression must have 50% of its pixels in view for at least 1 second.

  • A Video viewable impression must have 50% of its pixels in view for at least 2 consecutive seconds.

    MRC's Integral Ad Science report showed that average display viewability rates are at the time of this writing 53% across publishers and 43% across networks and exchanges. That means that for networks and exchanges, as much as 57% of the Ads being delivered are not even given the opportunity to be seen.

Visit

The experience of a visitor on a site over the course of multiple page views during a single session using the site. Each time a visitor begins a new session at a site is considered a separate visit. The actual aggregation of page views into visits is difficult and there are many different approaches.

Visitor

A person browsing a web page or using a mobile device who can participate in campaigns by viewing or clicking on Ads.

Web Beacon

A snippet of code inside a web page that creates a 1x1 transparent pixel on a web page by a third-party server to track user data. When the page and thus the Pixel loads, the third-party server records information such as the visitor's IP address, the page URL, and the date and time. Also called a Pixel or Tracking Pixel.

Weight

A number applied to an individual item within a set that indicates the item's relative likelihood to be randomly selected from items in that set. For example, if there are three items in a set, with weights 15, 60, 45; the first item should be randomly selected about 12.5% of the time, the second item 50% of the time, and the third 37.5% of the time.